Artisan Chocolate Festival in Florence 2014

There is an annual Artisan Chocolate Festival  in Florence, which takes place in the Piazza Santa Maria Novella (really close to the train station), and lasts 9 days. 

I’ve gone twice, and here are my pictures of two tents filled with chocolate vendors (click to see the festival’s official Feb 2014 gallery of pictures)

A golden puppy in front of the first tent.

They have a lot of fruit dipped in chocolate. Fichi = Figs, Cedro = lime, Pere = Pear.
One of the vendors managing a chocolate fondue thing.
These chocolates have been molded to look like objects — there was even chocolate made to look like cheese.
There were a lot of dogs hanging out right outside the tents.
An odd performer lady doing body art with chocolate and sprinkles.
Not sure what those are, except that they’re some form of chocolate dessert.

The first thing I asked the man working at this stand was “Lei parla l’inglese?” (“Do you speak english?”). He said no, so I got to point, mime, and draw a heart shape in the air (I bought the chocolates with the pink hearts on them).
I had a lot of fun playing with my camera and its focus settings.
When I went in the evening it was so full of people!

These very cute, large Valentine’s day chocolates 🙂 Seeing these made me miss my boyfriend Martin.
Just some giant chocolates.
On the way home I stopped by the Piazza della Repubblica, where there was an olive oil tasting fair. This is a beeswax candle and honey stand.
My view of the Ponte Vecchio from the Ponte alle Grazie bridge.
Leave a Reply

